Birthday Celebrations on Nov. 24th

Standard
     Tomorrow is both the celebration of my dear friend Corrine’s birthday, and also the celebration of me giving birth to my son, Loran.  What a gift to have them both having a birthday on the same day.  I believe that each of us has a gift to bring to the world, and so it is important to acknowledge how amazing and courageous it is for a soul to make the decision to come to this planet to grow and share their light with the world, and to bring forth their special gifts.

     I met Corrine in Telluride, CO, in 1984.  We met while I was going through a very challenging relationship and living in a difficult situation in Rico, CO, just south of Telluride.  Rico was a very small town at the time, and probably still is. Corrine was such a gift to me, so insightful, supportive, challenging.  She was the light that shone during a very dark time, that made it safe for me to heal and step forward on my path.  We stayed in touch throughout the years, but not often.  She is now back in my life and we talk every two weeks, and it is such a gift.  She is older and going through her own health challenges and yet her mind is still nimble.  She can remember conversations we had back then; my circumstances, my learning, and has been a precious mirror to show me how much I have healed. She is also an avid cheerleader, applauding all my growth, and helping me see how much I have changed, as well as reminding me of my special gifts and talents.  I feel like Spirit has brought us back into each other’s lives at an important time, so that we could support each other through our present transformation and challenges.

     I met my son 38 years ago.  I loved being pregnant and even wrote a paper for a college class about all the physical and emotional changes I was going through.  It was during my Catholic phase, so as I would go for five mile walks each day, with my dogs, Oblio and Arlo, I’d talk to my son and say the rosary.  So there we were, Mother Mary, Oblio, Arlo, my inutero son and I, together in the desert as we bonded.  After 4 months of Braxten Hicks contractions, and 17 hours of hard labor, my son was born the day before Thanksgiving, and boy was I grateful to finally meet him.  It was love at first sight, just as the love had grown over those nine months of conversations. 

     The relationship hasn’t turned out how I thought it would but for many years we were the best of friends.  No one could make me laugh as much as him. I always loved being a Mom. I read to him most nights and also sang and played guitar for him, until he went to college.  We had great fun playing games and football catch, singing songs, reading books, taking several week long road trips after I’d check him out of school, cross country skiing excursions, and hiking sometimes 7 days a week. We loved birthday celebrations so much that we’d often celebrate his birthday twice a year, making up a random date for the second birthday celebration. In a way we grew up together.  I am so grateful for the learning that takes place in motherhood, as you experience being responsible for someone else.  We were always aware of other lives we’d shared, so we knew the bond was an old one.

   What a precious gift it is to get to journey through life with these people,… to cry, to laugh, to travel through both the dark and light.  So, tonight, on the eve of their birthdays, I want to take the time to salute them, thank them, and wish for them a more peaceful path to walk, open doors to joyful opportunities, love to expand their hearts even more and light to show them the way.

Katelon T. Jeffereys

Seattle Life Coach

www.empowerandbalance.com

About katelon

I have been a wellness trainer, therapist, consultant and coach for 36 years, trained in 16 therapies from massage and reflexology to hypnotherapy and NLP, to past life regression and various spiritual therapies. I do my work in person and long distance. I also offer workshops to companies in wellness, stress release, diversity, team building, communication and more. My deepest dream is to create wellness centers all over the world, for not only individual wellness but environmental, family, business, community, and international wellness. I envision of world of peace, harmony and cooperation. I am available as a consultant to work with the creation of wellness centers and eco-villages and often refer others to various wellness centers and resorts in the area of their preference. Check out my website http://www.empowerandbalance.com

Please feel free to leave a comment and join the conversation!

