Following Your Dream!

Standard

Birds-flying_mg1135

  After recently watching the movie “Garbage Warrior” and also “2012: Time for change”, it led me to reflect upon how my life has been leading me  to this moment in time and my purpose on this planet.

    As a child, I grew up in the desert and would play house by drawing house plans on the desert floor and playing house in those “houses”.  After workers would go home for the day, I would explore the newly framed out houses in our neighborhood. I loved the smell of the wood, the openness of the frames and the wonder of watching a house be built from the ground up.

     Since I grew up both very ill and also remembering other lives and seeing other dimensions, the quest for health and a deeper spiritual understanding became the constant path I was led to walk.  Along with this, my sensitivity to unjustness that I saw all around me; the misery in my family, in school and in society, informed my later work as an activist.

     In 1978 I ended up taking a job as the communications director for Prescott College, the first college to offer a degree in environmental studies.  The staff at the time was an amazing group of transformational teachers, forward thinkers, pioneers.  During this time I was able to attend a workshop at the college taught by people from Findhorn, the still thriving spiritual community in Scotland.  This workshop brought together my metaphysical childhood, my love for building and community, my passion for wellness and social activism.

     At the time, my son was attending a local alternative school. I was in discussion with them to receive a government funded “Ceta” position in the fall of 1978, to teach art/music/dance to the children 1/2 time and do the school’s accounting and PR the other 1/2 day.  So I decided to take a leap, take money I had inherited from family deaths along with money I had received from an injury and buy land for myself. I quit my job, bought 5 acres 12 miles out of town, situated on a 20 acre land parcel purchased by 2 families.  My idealistic nature imagined this to be the Utopian beginning of a glorious community.  I thought I had it all figured out.  I had enough, I thought, to build my house. Since the land was paid for, I figured I would build the house over the summer, then have a job to go to in the fall and make enough to support my son and I, and still have some money left over.

     So the project began!  My son and I moved into a tepee and then my Father’s camper blocked up on the high desert floor.  I had a hose strung out over a tree branch, socking up sun during the morning and that became my shower.  I had an outhouse that looked out to a view of the San Francisco peaks in Flagstaff, AZ.  We started work at 6 am and worked until noon. Life was grand!!!

     The man I bought the land from designed a house that was partially underground and was to be powered by solar energy.  The crew was another neighbor, one other man from town and myself.  I started that summer with such hope and vision.  I grew muscles I never knew I had and began my life long dream of community, sustainability and alternative energy technology!

     Things didn’t go as planned as the land owner and neighbor began to talk badly about me behind my back, I found out that I really didn’t have enough money to finish the house and that the house had been built with poor decisions (like filling in the huge bricks with adobe ?!).    I was new to building so was just following the direction of the supposed experts.  I felt confused, betrayed and had no idea where to go from that experience.  My dream of community there disappeared as I got the roof on and put the house on the market, left the land and moved my son and I in with a friend.  All the extra materials I had purchased were stolen by the land owner and the neighbor, who later tried to deny it all.The descent was sealed when my promised job was given to someone else.

     But Spirit had a plan and led me to a reflexologist, for my ongoing back pain from the old injury and that began my career in holistic health.  From there I was led to explore other communities in AZ and NM, and I began my 32 year career in wellness along with my research to create International wellness/wholeness centers and commmunities.  My vision has stayed strong in spite of the many setbacks and often going it alone, but I feel the world coming to a stronger place that now better supports the visions that began for me in childhood.

    Sometimes it is challenging and painful to have a dream and to wait for it to materialize and yet the journey alone builds the strength, understanding and compassion that you need in order to fulfill that dream.  When you look back, you can see all the steps that led you from there to here, all the gifts along the way that expanded your offerings to give to your dream and the world.

     What path have you been walking? What dream have you been holding in your heart? My love and blessings go out to you to feed those dreams, bring light to that path, create the opening for you and your dream to be fulfilled.


Katelon T. Jeffereys

 

About katelon

I have been a wellness trainer, therapist, consultant and coach for 36 years, trained in 16 therapies from massage and reflexology to hypnotherapy and NLP, to past life regression and various spiritual therapies. I do my work in person and long distance. I also offer workshops to companies in wellness, stress release, diversity, team building, communication and more. My deepest dream is to create wellness centers all over the world, for not only individual wellness but environmental, family, business, community, and international wellness. I envision of world of peace, harmony and cooperation. I am available as a consultant to work with the creation of wellness centers and eco-villages and often refer others to various wellness centers and resorts in the area of their preference. Check out my website http://www.empowerandbalance.com

One response »

  1. Thank you Katelon for allowing me to witness a part of your life and for sharing your strength!!! Don’t give up on Dreams!

    Like

Please feel free to leave a comment and join the conversation!

