LOVE WILL SHOW THE WAY

Standard

Rose_lp

     Since the days are getting darker and darker leading up to Solstice and the world around me is looking so gloomy with governmental games, war, and political machinations, I started thinking lately about this concept called “darkness”.  Solstice must have been an intense time as our ancestors watched the days getting shorter and darker, as they wondered if light would come again.  I understand their hope and devotion as they gathered at places like Stonehenge to pray for and then celebrate the light as it dawned on a new morning leading to longer days, thus more hours of light. In our own lives it can become so easy to spiral downward into anger, fear, and grief in response to the holidays, unemployment, family strife, health and monetary challenges.  I am without family now and so I understand the challenge that can come with this season, added to the other struggles that others and I face.

      I was listening yesterday to one of my favorite singer/songwriters, David Wilcox.  I was touched by his song “Show the Way”, particularly the words “There is evil cast around us, but it is love that wrote the play, so that in this darkness love can show the way.”  His song ponders the question of perhaps this darkness that appears is really our soul’s way of bringing forth the love within us, along with love being the force that created the darkness SO that love could show the way.  Now I’m not one that believes we have to create struggle or challenge in our lives so that we can learn or grow. I feel that we’ve all had plenty of that to last many, many lifetimes.  But I do believe that when we can face this darkness while remembering and calling forth the love within us, and connecting to the love that is all around us, that we strengthen that love and it empowers others and thus us.

      Even when it is nighttime in our location, the sun is still shining somewhere else in the world.  Even when we are at the darkest point in our lives, there is still this love beating in our hearts.  I believe the more I can keep my attention on this love and find magic in the simple things around me, the more chance I have to feel the love within me and notice it in others.  That is what is so delightful to me during the holiday season. Even though I miss family to share this time with, I can still share in the magic of holiday lights, giving trees set up in offices and malls, people reaching out to wish each other a happy holiday.  I can boost myself up with the knowledge that the light is coming again, the days are going to grow longer, the warmth will return and perhaps family will return.

      No matter if you celebrate a holiday this time a year or not, or which holiday you celebrate, they all seem to focus on light, love, sharing, compassion, miracles, magic and peace.  We can birth this all within us right now by putting our attention on what brings us joy, what IS working in our bodies, relationships and lives.  And I believe that what springs from this attention is us creating more and more of that in our lives.

      We have an opportunity now to change our world, and ourselves right this moment. And that moment becomes the next moment and the next and soon we have a new “us”, a new world.  Let’s fill it with love, light and magic!  Smell the sweetness of that, hear the joyous sounds, and recognize the beauty as it comes into form!

     Many blessings for a beautiful holiday season to you!

 

Katelon T. Jeffereys

Seattle Life Coach

www.empowerandbalance.com

 

 

About katelon

I have been a wellness trainer, therapist, consultant and coach for 36 years, trained in 16 therapies from massage and reflexology to hypnotherapy and NLP, to past life regression and various spiritual therapies. I do my work in person and long distance. I also offer workshops to companies in wellness, stress release, diversity, team building, communication and more. My deepest dream is to create wellness centers all over the world, for not only individual wellness but environmental, family, business, community, and international wellness. I envision of world of peace, harmony and cooperation. I am available as a consultant to work with the creation of wellness centers and eco-villages and often refer others to various wellness centers and resorts in the area of their preference. Check out my website http://www.empowerandbalance.com

One response »

  1. The picture of the flower was enough to get me started thinking of "brighter" days – is nice. And, you stated it well, in remembering to appreciate some of the simple things to keep us going, and to make usfeel connected, in love with ourselves and others!Thank you – for keeping the faith and hope going!!!!

    Like

Please feel free to leave a comment and join the conversation!

