Honoring My Dearest Friend, Corrine Brickell!

Standard

Lily

     I was awoken this morning with the call that my dearest friend had passed away on Sunday.  When I last spoke with her, she seemed very confused, and her speaking was very clouded and shaky.  When I next called, she wasn’t in her apartment and her husband, confused by his encroaching Alzheimer disease and the absence of his wife, couldn’t tell me where she was, so I called the office of her assisted living space.  I was told she had been moved to another facility to adjust her medications, but probably she had been moved to hospice at that time and they couldn’t tell me that.

     I first met Corrine in 1984 when I was living in a small Colorado town in a very dishonoring and abusive situation. I had dropped into deep despair, and felt emotionally suicidal.  I was led to Corrine for therapy and give thanks every day for that connection.  Not only did she save my life at the time, and get me through that horrible time, but she also assisted me in restoring my dignity and put me solidly on a journey to re-own my self-worth and value.
     We became deep friends and kept in touch over the years.  She knew my son, too, so she remained a valuable witness to my life, my growth, my struggles and joys, as a Mother then, and a Mother now with an estranged son.  She continually reminded me that I had been and still remained a loving daughter, Mother and woman, when criticisms ran high and I had the option of drowning in other’s judgments of me.
     These last several years, we talked frequently as I committed to calling her regularly.  She always took time every call to applaud my growth, remind me that of all her clients I had gone deeper in my introspection and further in healing than all of them, and did it mostly on my own.  She remained a constant friend and cheerleader even to the end.
     And….she valued my calls and friendship as well. In spite of having three sons, and a sister, I seemed to be the only one that sent her Mother’s day cards, birthday cards, have a great day cards.  It saddened me that she didn’t receive more love and attention, especially toward the end as she valiantly stayed alive in spite of intense pain and the many ailments she had suffered over the years. She was determined to stay alive to care for her husband through his debilitating illness.  I am so grateful her pain is over and trust that her husband will be cared for in some way by his children.
     Corrine was a model of flexibility, compassion, devotion, fierce love, humor and determination.  I will always carry her in my heart and remain in gratitude for all we shared.  May she now rest in peace, comfort and joy.

Katelon T. Jeffereys

Seattle Life Coach

About katelon

I have been a wellness trainer, therapist, consultant and coach for 36 years, trained in 16 therapies from massage and reflexology to hypnotherapy and NLP, to past life regression and various spiritual therapies. I do my work in person and long distance. I also offer workshops to companies in wellness, stress release, diversity, team building, communication and more. My deepest dream is to create wellness centers all over the world, for not only individual wellness but environmental, family, business, community, and international wellness. I envision of world of peace, harmony and cooperation. I am available as a consultant to work with the creation of wellness centers and eco-villages and often refer others to various wellness centers and resorts in the area of their preference. Check out my website http://www.empowerandbalance.com

One response »

  1. I received a wonderful email today from Corrine’s stepson and was informed of the love and attention she did receive from him, his sisters and her grandchildren, so I am glad to know that Corrine was supported, loved and acknowledged. I understand that often as one is wrapped up in disease and pain that memories get foggy. I sadly found out, too, that her husband Bob soon followed her in death. I’m not surprised as she had stayed alive to care for him, and their bond was deep. May they both now be joined in joy, love and peace into eternity!

    Like

Please feel free to leave a comment and join the conversation!

