Giving Thanks For A Body!

Standard

592 skyward web

A long time friend contacted my yesterday to see if she could offer me some work from the healing work she is learning this weekend. So we did a session via skype. I could feel the work happening in my body and also had a profound shift in my understanding.

I grew up very severely ill and when I wasn’t ill I was very active, climbing everything I could find and taking part in other physical activities. I also sang and studied piano. So I was used to using my body but I don’t feel that I spent much time truly being “in” my body. Perhaps it was from being ill that I felt my body had betrayed me, I don’t know. And although I loved the beauty of this earth, I just never felt a sense of belonging here. My spiritual and psychic experiences weren’t received well by my parents and doctors tried to convince them I was crazy. It was confusing to me because what I saw with my spiritual sight made much more sense to me than the struggles and negativity that much of the world lived within.

I have used “grounding” and other spiritual visualizations and techniques to help myself inhabit my body more, and have certainly made great gains through this, but still don’t feel like I ever truly felt at home in my body. I grew up restless, too, which I partly feel is my true nature, but in other ways, I feel like this has been behind much of my moving.

Several years ago I took a Hooponopono workshop and Len, the leader, suggested that we thank everything…the chair we are sitting on, the shower stall we are standing in, the air, the water, our food, etc. I started the habit of doing this everyday to all the parts of my lodging, my walks, my car…all of it. But I never thought to thank my body, until today.

In the midst of an “activation” that my friend was administering, I had this strong tingling feeling in my legs and feet, and then this understanding that I needed to start honoring my body and thanking it for housing my soul. Later, my friend and I discussed how this honoring would perhaps lead to me not only feeling at home in my body, but me feeling a deeper sense of being home, belonging here. So we are both curious to see how this will shift other areas of my body and life.

Thank you beautiful body for your strength, amazing cooperation and team work that keeps me healthy, my food digested, my body oxygenated, and allows me to see/smell/touch/taste/hear this beautiful planet and all the creatures on it. Thank you wonderful body for allowing me to have a vehicle to use to share my gifts with the world and providing me a profession. Thank you my delightful body for allowing me to experience the joy of this planet and the bounty of Spirit.

About katelon

I have been a wellness trainer, therapist, consultant and coach for 36 years, trained in 16 therapies from massage and reflexology to hypnotherapy and NLP, to past life regression and various spiritual therapies. I do my work in person and long distance. I also offer workshops to companies in wellness, stress release, diversity, team building, communication and more. My deepest dream is to create wellness centers all over the world, for not only individual wellness but environmental, family, business, community, and international wellness. I envision of world of peace, harmony and cooperation. I am available as a consultant to work with the creation of wellness centers and eco-villages and often refer others to various wellness centers and resorts in the area of their preference. Check out my website http://www.empowerandbalance.com

Please feel free to leave a comment and join the conversation!

