Storms Of Our Lives

Standard

April 2012 Lincoln park storm

I grew up with severe asthma, died a couple times, spent alot of my life in hospitals and emergency rooms up until I was 40. I also had several injuries, including falling through a hole in a floor in a store (sounds like a sitcom doesn’t it?) in 1971. For some years I cursed these inflictions but as the years went on, I learned to see them as gifts.

Doctors told my parents I wouldn’t leave to be 30 years old. My brother had already died at age 21 when he went into a hospital with asthma and the doctor gave him too much medication, thus killing him. So at age 22 I started studying TM meditation, the next year studied Silva Mind control and the next year started studying homeopathy, herbs, and other alternative health topics. In 1978 I was led to a reflexologist who finally took the pain away from my fall in 71, and it also helped my lungs, so I decided to learn it. Thus began my 34+ year career in holistic therapies.

Throughout my life as I searched for ways to heal myself or at least help relieve some of my symptoms, mental, emotional and physical, when I’d find therapies that were useful, I would learn them and add them to my tool box in my career. So I feel that my health challenges have led me to my career and also my destiny.

Most people with lungs like mine are in bed, or they stay home and do very little. I go for 5 mile hikes, sometimes every day. I know that all these techniques I have learned and my spiritual focus have been responsible for this. These health challenges have taught me patience, empathy, compassion, understanding, peace in the midst of struggle, and strength I never knew I had.

It is easy when storms arrive in our lives, whatever their form, to attempt to flee, struggle, or feel defeated. But I have found in my own life and the lives of many of my clients that these storms are often the impetus for change, opportunities for growth, wake up calls or the signpost to another path.

I have learned to love these parts of me, not to stay attached to the ailments but to be able to love the parts of me that chose this path of learning, seeing how it has served me, so when the time comes for my body to release them completely, the process will be a gentle exhale instead of a wrestling match.

Photo by Katelon Jeffereys. Storm from Lincoln Park, Seattle, WA

About katelon

I have been a wellness trainer, therapist, consultant and coach for 36 years, trained in 16 therapies from massage and reflexology to hypnotherapy and NLP, to past life regression and various spiritual therapies. I do my work in person and long distance. I also offer workshops to companies in wellness, stress release, diversity, team building, communication and more. My deepest dream is to create wellness centers all over the world, for not only individual wellness but environmental, family, business, community, and international wellness. I envision of world of peace, harmony and cooperation. I am available as a consultant to work with the creation of wellness centers and eco-villages and often refer others to various wellness centers and resorts in the area of their preference. Check out my website http://www.empowerandbalance.com

7 responses »

  1. Thank you for sharing your story and good for your for not giving up! 🙂 There are SO many self-healing techniques out there. Pills aren’t always the answer. Being bed-ridden shouldn’t be an ultimate reality for anyone. There is a way to survive the storms throughout life. Have you ever heard of EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) or The Emotional Release Technique? These are both amazing! I have also been looking into Shamanic Reiki. I would love to hear about what herbs you have used to alleviate your symptoms as I too have upper respiratory issues.

    Like

    • Thanks for taking the time to read my post and comment! I do EFT and emotional release techniques, am trained in 16 therapies and have studied many more, including the spiritual therapies I do, and past life clearing/healing work, along with being a reiki Master and doing work similar to shamanic work. Right now, I am going to a wonderful chiropractor who does nutritional therapies and we are working on healing my stomach and intestinal system, which seems to be at the root of the lung stuff.

      For infections, I have used oil of oregano, cats claw and olive leaf; for allergies/sinus stuff-rose hips and I used to make a tea out of yellow dock, red clover and hypericum.

      I believe that we are moving into complete healing and rejuvenation and feel that will be a part of our future as it is our true nature! Be well!

      Like

Please feel free to leave a comment and join the conversation!

