Salad Bowl of Multiple Identities

Standard

I love this…a “Salad Bowl of Multiple identities”. Even as a young child I was very sensitive to the discrimination that happened around me, not only against me but other children as well. Since I had such a strong spiritual identity, it just didn’t make sense to me how people treated each other.

Time to create a world that celebrates the differences and comes together to harness the strengths of each other.

Otrazhenie

“We don’t need a melting pot…, folks. We need a salad bowl. In a salad bowl, you put in the different things. You want the vegetables – the lettuce, the cucumbers, the onions, the green peppers – to maintain their identity. You appreciate differences.”

Jane Elliot

salad

“My first exposure to murder,” the Nobel-winning economist Amartya Sen writes in “Identity and Violence” “occurred when I was 11.” It was 1944, a few years before the end of the British Raj and a period of widespread Hindu-Muslim riots. The victim was “a profusely bleeding unknown person suddenly stumbling through the gate to our garden, asking for help and a little water.” Rushed to the hospital by Sen’s father, the man died there of his injuries. He was Kader Mia, a Muslim day laborer knifed by Hindus. He had been asked by his wife not to go into a hostile area of then-undivided…

View original post 289 more words

About katelon

I have been a wellness trainer, therapist, consultant and coach for 36 years, trained in 16 therapies from massage and reflexology to hypnotherapy and NLP, to past life regression and various spiritual therapies. I do my work in person and long distance. I also offer workshops to companies in wellness, stress release, diversity, team building, communication and more. My deepest dream is to create wellness centers all over the world, for not only individual wellness but environmental, family, business, community, and international wellness. I envision of world of peace, harmony and cooperation. I am available as a consultant to work with the creation of wellness centers and eco-villages and often refer others to various wellness centers and resorts in the area of their preference. Check out my website http://www.empowerandbalance.com

Please feel free to leave a comment and join the conversation!

